Quest for the new normal

Otto is already plotting ways to foil my hunt for normalcy.

A week ago tonight, I went into labor, the inevitable conclusion of which came 26 and a half hours later with the arrival of our son Otto. Nothing went as we expected, but everything ended up as we had hoped. I’m still processing the experience, which had its fraught moments, the worst of which I didn’t personally witness (Seth however may be permanently scarred).

We’re all safely at home now, grasping at a semblance of routine, aided by visiting family. A couple random observations about early parenthood: One, the much-ballyhooed pregnancy hormones, whose influence I largely escaped, have now come to roost, reducing me to tears over things worthy (the unexpected profundity of breastfeeding) and unworthy (a routine question during a follow-up phone call); and Two, that this is a time that calls for letting go of my long-standing belief that I can do it all by myself. So many people have helped us so far, and are setting us up for the weeks to come, when we will in fact have to settle into our own new normal.

Accordingly, I anticipate sporadic blogging for the near term. The last thing I want to do is “mommy blog” – blah. (There’s an interesting Slate piece up on “mommy” used as a pejorative-leaning qualifier for all sorts of nouns that don’t need it – but I am too lazy to search for the link and include it.) I’ve found this space to be valuable for a variety of reasons, including the need for a regular writing deadline, and I know it will be waiting for me when I’m able to come back.

2 responses to “Quest for the new normal

  1. Greetings, I’m Cristine and I’m truly pleased that I stumbled on wordpress.

    com. I have got a brief question which I’d like to ask if
    you don’t mind. I was curious to learn about how you focus yourself and open up your mind before writing. Lately I just can’t get my head clear
    so that I’m able to work on my ideas. I truly do enjoy writing, but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost merely just trying to figure out how to start. Any ideas or suggestions?

    • Maybe those first 10 to 15 minutes of floundering are just part of your process, and you need to accept them as your warm-up period before you your productivity kicks in. I do that kind of floundering-ish writing every morning, long hand, for about 10 minutes. By the time I’m ready to sit down and actually write at night, I need another small chunk of time to waste online before I settle down.

Leave a Reply

