A fortuitous find

Click for source.

One of those internet wormholes one ends up going through led me to this fabulous source of information about creativity, from which I have swiped the following quote attributed to Nick Cave:

Inspiration is a word used by people who aren’t really doing anything. I go into my office every day that I’m in Brighton and work. Whether I feel like it or not is irrelevant.

Did you know that Nick Cave wrote a jesusy sort of novel? Actually, looks like he’s written more than one novel. But the first one is the one that I read. My 17-year-old self was not terribly impressed, and I tend, in this case, to trust my youthful judgment. The book was leant to me by a guy who was at the time not dealing particularly well with his mental illness. He also gave me, in a towering pile, his entire collection of Birthday Party/Bad Seeds CDs to enjoy, digest, and ultimately, discuss. In an instant, I regretted sharing my casual interest in Nick Cave with him. After a decent interval, I returned his collection and sidestepped further conversation by retreating into the guise of a ninny, which, who knows, maybe isn’t that much of a stretch (see: confessing an interest in Nick Cave to one of his mentally ill fans).

Anyhoo. Explore: totally worthy of its name. This article on a book about the anatomy of inspiration! I feel like I occasionally blather on about the ladies of the 1930s and their compelling take on writing. The book discussed at the link is from 1942, and sounds like it’s of a piece with Dorothea Brande et al. Of course it is out of print, but maybe I will stumble on it someday.

Leave a Reply

