Musical interlude

I’m not a fan of the Fiery Furnaces, but based on this, may need to check out Eleanor Friedberger’s solo album. Although I did come across this video before encountering the song on its own, so now it’s hard for me to separate the visual story from the music, specifically, the mild repulsion/affection I feel for the fashion of the 90s that the former evokes.

Mainly, those hideous heels. I like the way that the updated version of the heels is more refined and vintagey, with better proportions and relevance to a particular strain of contemporary indie fashion. I feel like I can see an evolution of the fictional girl’s style, even as certain elements remain the same.

I’m overthinking this, aren’t I? Le sigh.

Post script: I finished the damned fast-draft novel. FINALLY.

Leave a Reply

