Last gasp

David, The Death of Marat

For me, the semester ends on Tuesday, but for some reason, I am behaving as if it’s already over. I have something like 40-60 pages left to read and respond to for my novel writing class, but as invested as I am in reading people’s work…it’s after 10:00 on a Sunday night, I have to get up to go running at 6:30, and I’ve done jack. WHAT?!

I also intended to decorate the house for the holidays today. This is what got done: S put lights up outside. WHAT?!

Look. I had a thing to go to tonight, for work, and it was really, really lovely. It was in fact my sole responsibility today, and only required that I show up with my laptop and get a PowerPoint I did rotating, then have a nice time. I did those things. But that’s about all I did. Le sigh.

It never ceases to amaze me how profoundly productive I am when I am extremely busy, and how when I have, say, one responsibility to complete in a day, it’s all I can do to get that done. It’s a paradox.

There is one certain thing, though, and that is this – if I don’t hurry up and post this, I’ll never get back to reading and responding to stories.

Leave a Reply

