Viva Sweden

Sometimes I get so utterly absorbed in work, writing projects, etc, that I miss things/events/news that is/are happening right in front of me. A few weeks ago, for example, I missed a Thao show. (I’m still sad about that.) Then, today, I discovered purely by chance that H&M is coming to Tucson.

(How did I miss this news? Most of my local news comes from public radio, and I guess they didn’t see fit to cover it…I suppose I COULD pick up a paper every once in a while. Le sigh.)

Ten years ago, I would have been over the moon about H&M’s arrival in Tucson. Don’t get me wrong: I’m still excited. But just last year, H&M came to Scottsdale, and I have to say, the Scottsdale location is one of the lamest H&Ms I’ve ever been in. And I’ve been in a lot: throughout Scandinavia, H&M proliferates in the same way that Walgreen’s proliferates in the American West. Which is to say, there’s one on almost every corner. Sometimes they’re across the street from each other, a situation justified by slightly different stock. One might be an all-accessories H&M, for example, and one might contain men’s wear. These H&Ms aren’t branded differently from each other that I can tell (ie, GapBody, GapKids). You go in and look around and figure it out. If you are a native of the city in question, you know exactly which one to visit for your needs.

The Scottsdale H&M is smaller than most – with an especially pathetic men’s section – and when I was there, I also found their accessories selection lacking. Whither the wall of leggings and tights, people? The H&Ms we went to in Barcelona were similarly underwhelming – smaller, less selection – though we each managed to find a few things. I guess the Spaniards prefer Zara or Mango, and for good enough reason.

In any case, here’s hoping Tucson’s H&M is ginormous and well-stocked. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

