Alex Chilton

I’ve been surprised because there has been less of an outpouring than I expected for Alex Chilton, who died of a heart attack in New Orleans last week. Of course, I wasn’t at SXSW. And Paul Westerberg wrote a lovely op ed in the NYT. So I don’t know. Maybe the right people are mourning in the right way, and that is enough.

When I was a young teen, Big Star was one of those influences it seemed like all the bands I liked would cite. So I went out and got one of their albums. I will always love September Gurls, but I had trouble connecting with their music beyond that; maybe I should go back to it or try another album.

I did find this in the Village Voice, this in the Guardian, and I heard something on NPR that day.

Leave a Reply

