These boots are made for walking

I will be teaching for the first time this semester, and, in an effort to strike the right note of authority, I decided to purchase a killer pair of boots, the better to kick ass with. Some savings and some holiday cash from the in-laws have allowed me to make an actual investment, overcoming my usual cheapskate ways.

There are so many options. I thought I wanted the Frye Veronica Slouch, but then I changed to the Frye Paige Tall Riding Boot. The latter is a lot more streamlined, and thus, I think, more versatile. I need boots that are going to work at the office as well as with beat-up jeans on the weekend. I ordered the Paige boots last week, and they finally came today. Alas, they’re just not quite right. They fit pretty well, but the top of the boot flares out just slightly, giving me a hint of a pirate silhouette. I tried them on in a series of different scenarios (jeans, leggings, skirt), and each scenario left me feeling kinda blah.

So now I’m thinking maybe this boot is the way to go. It’s a little more fashion-y with the buckles, and really lovely in person. I’ll go try them on Wednesday. I’m sad about the Fryes tho. I wanted to love them…and they smell divine.

Leave a Reply

