Salad days

Oh noes…the semester has not yet begun, and my commitment to a regular blogging schedule is already under siege, as I try to finish my syllabus, read ahead in the memoir class I’m taking, and polish off a story revision.

As hectic as it’s been this return-to-work week, I’ve found that my lunches have become dramatically better, thanks to citrus-flavored olive oil from Temeculah Olive Oil company, a present from my brother and sister-in-law. This stuff is awesome. It’s made my sometimes-boring salads something that I look forward to. I make a super-simple vinaigrette of the olive oil, white balsamic vinegar from Trader Joe’s, sea salt, and white pepper. Yum.

And speaking of Trader Joe’s…thank god the holidays are over. No more holiday Jo-Jo’s, an Oreo-type cookie with smooshed up candy canes in the creme. I could not stop eating those things, and would eat one right this second, if one was at hand.

Leave a Reply

